Click here for 27% rakeback offer from ACR + 200% sign-up bonus.

US players unable to score a victory in first eight WSOPE events

The latest poker news from, featuring top stories from around the gambling industry.

US players unable to score a victory in first eight WSOPE events

The annual World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) is well underway. It began on October 9, offering millions of dollars and gold bracelets in the 10 games put on the schedule. In a first for the US poker field, not a single US player has been able to capture a title so far, with eight games already having found champions.

The first two events were won by Israeli players. Tamir Segal took down the first event, the NLHE Colossus, earning over $220,000 in prize money. He was followed by Asi Moshi, who won the NLHE 6-Handed DeepStack event. Moshi earned his second WSOP bracelet and almost $100,000.

The third event was taken down by Austria’s Hanh Tran. The Pot-Limit Omaha (PLO) 8-Handed event didn’t see any Americans make it to the final table and Tran went on to win his second bracelet and $68,365.

Event four, the Turbo Bounty Hunter, was won by Mykhailo Gutyi out of Ukraine. Once again, no Americans made it to the final table. Gutyi earned a little over $70,000 for his performance.

Israel showed its poker prowess again in event five, the Monster Stack NLHE event, when Timur Margolin won the title and over $150,000. In event six, American pro Shaun Deeb almost made it, but was eliminated by Norbert Szecsi from Hungary in the Mixed PLO/NLHE game.

Another PLO game, this one an 8-Handed event, was won by Hong Kong’s Anson Tsang. The recently-completed NLHE Super High Roller saw only one American, James Romero, make it to the final table, but he was eliminated in seventh place. The title ultimately went to Australia’s Michael Addamo, who earned over $960,000 for his performance.

Two games remain in this year’s WSOPE and it will be interesting to see if any American players can prevent a complete shutout. Alex Foxen is still in the running in the ninth event, the NLHE King’s Super High Roller, and is joined by David Peters, Ryan Riess and Roger Teska.


Hailing from Wisconsin but arriving in Las Vegas in 1995, I'm better known at various US online poker rooms under the pen name "OreoBob" and "SoyFlush". I'm an avid poker player and editor-at-large who has contributed as a freelance writer for diverse national and international iGaming publications since 2004.

News Archive

April 2019
« Nov